December 5, 2010

Ka-boom!

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:40 pm by Jane

Recently I was asked to pinch-hit as an emcee and singer for a huge kids’  Christmas party (150 kids, a dozen teachers).  Although it was at such short notice – I only received the party plan yesterday, and had never worked with most of the teachers before, or sang the songs before – I was really, really determined to do a good job of it.   To be honest, with typical gaijin hubris and over-confidence, I was convinced that I would simply breeze through it all, and that everyone would be fantastically impressed with me.   How wrong I was.

I bombed.   It was awful.  It got to the stage that they ended the party early because I had so clearly run out of patter and musical inspiration, and the kids were getting fidgety.   I felt just dreadful, and I know it showed because kind people kept coming up to console me afterwards.   When I got home I found some supportive emails on my computer, including this wonderful line: “Thank you for your hard hard work and your constant coming today.”  Oh, if only my job were that simple!

I still feel awful, I haven’t felt this rotten in ages.  I wonder if I should return the money that they paid me (not that they’d accept it back).   To be sure, in the grand scheme of things, it’s not a big deal.  I  mean, the kids were okay, thanks to “Santa” (thanks Dave from Australia!) making an appearance at the end of the party to distribute presents, and as for me, I’m pretty sure that I haven’t done any major damage to my career prospects or reputation or anything like that … but my pride has been damaged, and that’s not something I’m used to.  Serves me right for being so cocky.  Oh well, chalk it up to experience … hopefully not one that I’ll ever have to repeat.

4 Comments »

  1. Karen said,

    Oh, my. I’ve never emceed anything like that, so I can’t imagine how horrified you must be. In fact, though, I’ve never run out of things to say, either. I’m of Irish heritage, Blarney Stone and all that. I have had to give speeches in front of 400 or so people, & it didn’t faze me. I wrote a very good speech (if I do say so), with some humor and some serious bits. I knew what I was going to say, and I relished saying it. I guess this was the “Boy Scout” lesson for you: Be prepared.

  2. Miko said,

    I’m feeling better now, after sleeping on it. Speaking of speeches, remind me to post about the annual speech contest which took place a few weeks ago.

  3. Karen said,

    Oh, yes, please do. It’s always a treat to hear about it.

  4. Olivia said,

    Miko, I just heard about the Tsunami hitting an hour ago. Please let us know you and your family are ok! I’m so worried. XXXXXXXX


Leave a Reply

