On a wing and a prayer…

This guy apparently came in on a pot plant when I brought some in to keep them from freezing. The first time, he wandered down to the kitchen sink faucet. I moved him back to a plant. Then he disappeared for a week. I figured the cats and found & dispatched him to praying mantis heaven. Then, voila, he was back again today. He’s warming up on the light over the sink. I’m leaving him alone this time. Do you have these in Japan, Miko? They’re quite harmless, and in fact, eat pest bugs. Should I name it? Don’t know if it’s male or female. We could go with a neutral name, like Pat.

5 comments on “On a wing and a prayer…

  1. Karen says:

    Okay, it’s name is officially Pat. It’s still right where it was yesterday, by the light fixture. Permanent resident, I guess.

  2. Miko says:

    Hi Pat, nice to make your acquaintance. Yes we have those in Japan, they are called “kamakiri.” One fell on my bag the other day in the park, I was quite startled. Perhaps he was trying to get me to pass on a message to his cousin in Texas.

  3. Karen says:

    Too late. Pat passed away. I picked him up to take him outside because the weather had warmed up. But he was quite limp. He’s laid to rest in a pot full of flowers outside. I have no idea why it croaked. Maybe his time was just up.

  4. Miko says:

    Crikey, I’ve just been doing some reading up about mantises. Did you know that the females bite off the heads of their partners after sex? You did Pat a good turn by taking him in when you did!

  5. Karen says:

    Yes, I had read that when I looked up about them too. Fearsome, isn’t it? Either way, male or female, some bug lived because Pat didn’t.

Leave a Reply

