October 31, 2010

True equality is …?

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:39 am by Jane

Recently I read a (North American-based) blog that was a celebration of female financial independence, which I’m all for. 

One of the posters announced that she was divorcing her husband of 20 years because “I’ve decided that if I have to support my husband for the rest of my life, I may as well be divorced and be happy.”   Another poster shared that she was ditching her husband because throughout their 16 years of marriage she had been the main breadwinner, and she ultimately didn’t see the point in keeping on another mouth to feedShe very cleverly worked out a way to keep their two kids and set up a trust for them, not to mention finding a way to pressure her ex-husband for child support, despite knowing that he earned far less money than she did. 

Now, imagine that the roles were reversed, and it was a man happily announcing that he was going to dump his wife, because she didn’t contribute her fair share of the household expenses.  Imagine the uproar, even in your own mind.

5 Comments »

  1. Karen said,

    Except for this – she was probably the chief cook, bottlewasher, maid, and child care. If he had to hire all that, he might find she made more money than he did. That has sort of been the point with women. We finally broke the glass ceiling but many men still do not share in the household duties. So, unless the guy was playing house husband and mommy for 90 % of the work, I don’t blame her. If a woman was making less than her husband, that’s exactly what he would expect from her.

  2. Miko said,

    Yes, those are excellent points, Karen. I think about this issue almost everyday when I come home at 8:30 and get into the “second shift” (laundry, dishes, etc) – and I do *not* have high standards of housekeeping, believe me. I read that the presence of a male in the home adds seven hours of housework a week to the average woman’s workload. Only seven? It feels like much more than that. No way am I ever going to invite another male into my life, I’d be crazy.

  3. Karen said,

    Yep, I’d have to say you have figured out the equation.

  4. Miko said,

    According to my calculations, S&B owe me $300,000 for services rendered!

  5. Karen said,

    I think you have seriously undervalued your worth.


Leave a Reply

