October 20, 2010

Exciting news!

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:46 am by Jane

Kobe made it into the Michelin guidebook.  Two small restaurants in Kobe have officially been granted three stars each.  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: Kobe is a foodie’s paradise, and a place where you can indulge almost every culinary whim, but from a chef’s point of view it can be a tough nut to crack.  The people of this small but sophisticated city welcome all and any influences from around the world, especially from Europe and China, but they are also extremely fussy about the quality of their food, and demand value for money.  Right now, I’m kicking myself for walking past one of the above restaurants (Ca sento) on dozens of occasions, and not bothering to stop in on the grounds that I didn’t want to pay 50 bucks for lunch.  Now, if I want to go there, I’ll have to pay more than twice that, and go on a months-long waiting list!

My timing truly sucks!

2 Comments »

  1. Karen said,

    Damn, I was just going to ask you if had been to either one. I mean, they compared Japan to France as a gastronomic wonder. That’s just huge!

  2. Miko said,

    Yep, it’s not all octopus tentacles (not that I’d mind)!


Leave a Reply

