I’m a bit suspicious of the looks of some of those “female” guards

But otherwise … yawn.  We’ve been doing it for years.

2 comments on “I’m a bit suspicious of the looks of some of those “female” guards

  1. Karen says:

    It always astounds me that the sexual harassment is so bad in Japan and apparently other parts of Asia. I don’t think guys could get away with that here. Or maybe it goes on all the time on buses and subways. I don’t ride either one, so what do I know.

  2. Miko says:

    For some reason, male-on-female sex crimes are quite common here (I’m talking about supposedly “petty” stuff, such as groping, voyeurism, flashing, panty-snatching, workplace harassment, and the like) but *violent* street crime, including rape, is relatively rare, even in big cities. I still find it remarkable that I can walk around in my neighbourhood at night unmolested, or that parents allow their elementary-school-aged daughters to travel to school alone on public transport every day. And I can’t count the number of American tourists who have commented to me in wonderment just how safe they feel in Japan, even when walking around on city streets at night.

    When all is said and done, I still feel far safer here than I ever did in NZ, where a lone female walking or jogging by herself is regarded as fair game. Perhaps the real question is not “why are there so many perverts in Japan?” but “why is there is there so much violent street crime in Western countries?”

    Of course, this doesn’t excuse the nasty train gropers. I’ve had some dreadful experiences with them in the past, I’ll post about them later.

Leave a Reply

