Riddle me this

A few days ago at the dentist I had a gentle cleaning session that cost me eighteen whole dollars.

A couple of months ago I had a tooth pulled out to make room for a bridge, and it wasn’t nearly as easy or gentle (for me or the dentist).  Cost?  $1.50 – that’s right, I paid with spare change from my purse, and they even offered me the tooth to take home with me.

What am I supposed to make of this?  That the Japanese government regards scaling as unnecessary, and therefore unworthy of subsidising?   I still can’t figure it out.   I mean, wouldn’t it be cheaper in the long run to just have my teeth pulled out and replaced?

2 comments on “Riddle me this

  1. karen1945 says:

    Yes, apparently it would. But I’m guessing it took a lot longer to clean your teeth than to pull 1 tooth. So, that could be the answer.

  2. Jeni says:

    Yeah, it’s a mystery to me but that’s Japan for you.

Leave a Reply

