God, those bitches (weary sigh)

(Rant alert!  Please do skip this post if you only want to hear happy shiny news about me.)

You may or may not be surprised to learn that the ghastly, screeching harridans of JJs continue to give me headache after headache.  Here’s the latest news:

1.  Junko, my former partner who dropped out early in the game, has finally gotten over her sulky fit (after nearly a year!) and rejoined us, albeit merely as a customer.  We are all very glad to see her again, but I’m disappointed that she seems to be keeping her distance from me … although frankly, I don’t blame her, considering all the trouble that I’ve had over the past year with her friends and associates.

2.  The JJs have split into five distinct factions, three of whom are perpetually at war with each other.  I am getting really sick and tired of these middle-aged and elderly women behaving like high schoolers (in fact, I don’t ever remember behaving like this in high school myself), not to mention the nasty way that they treat each other: the passed notes, the soto voce enquiries, the smilingly bitchy remarks, the pointed ostracism, the desperate attempts to win my favours  just to get back at the others and win points with their in-groups … I cannot believe that these are respectable suburban housewives in their fifties.  Can you?

3.  They make me sick.  I’m sorry to say this, but I am now filled with utter contempt for them, and I’m finding it harder and harder to hide it.  So far I’ve made a point of not getting involved in their stupid antics, and as a matter of policy I steadfastly refuse to take sides, but recently I fear that I am going to snap and say – or do – something regrettable.   To be honest, part of me wants to quit while I’m ahead, and another part wants to stick around and see what eventuates, out of sheer idle curiosity. 

Right now nothing would make me happier than seeing the whole thing implode, preferably from a distance.

4.  Practically speaking, the JJs groups now account for a whole third of my income.  I probably won’t suffer unduly if I lose the money, but there’s a small chance that a certain pampered puss will have his pet food downgraded, and his big brother may not be able to stay in school for the next ten years as he seems to be planning to do.  Anyway, I’m sure I can make up the difference in no time, by setting up another venture in another area.  But considering this sour experience, I’m not sure that I want to.  Who would?

5.  I’m very fond of two of the JJs five factions, and would feel very bad about giving them up.   I would miss the mums and babes classes dreadfully, for example.  You may ask why I have to give them up in the first place.  Well, consider the fact that almost all of the JJs live in the same ward of west Kobe, and hang out together at the same government-run community centre.  There isn’t much they don’t know about each other, and word gets around fast.  It would be very difficult for me to keep in contact with some but not the others. 

Anyway, it’s been a wild ride for the past year or so, but I think it’s time for me to hang up the saddle and admit that I’m not cut out to be an entreprenuer, at least not one dealing with menopausal women.   What do you think?

3 comments on “God, those bitches (weary sigh)

  1. Karen says:

    I think you should dump the three factions you dislike, and keep the two you like. Perhaps you could find another place to have the meetings. If members of the other factions find out, so what? You don’t like them anyway.

    Or, you could make an attempt to keep them all, but only after giving them a stern lecture to the effect that you are at the end of your tolerance with the in-fighting and bitchery, and that if it doesn’t cease, the classes will. It might work, or at least they’d quit letting you see or know about it.

  2. Miko says:

    I’m going to announce a summer break for the whole of August, and think things over during that time with a cool head. Thanks for your advice, I appreciate it. It’s awful not being able to talk to anyone about it!

  3. Miko says:

    Hmm, a timely quote: “If you’re going to do something unpopular, do it straight away.”

Leave a Reply

