And this is why so many Japanese people grow up and rob fast-food places

This festival is reknowned in Japan, and although I’ve never attended it, I read reports about it every year.  Until now, I never realised that most Westerners would regard it as a cruel sport. 

Why, those mothers are almost as bad as stage mothers!

4 comments on “And this is why so many Japanese people grow up and rob fast-food places

  1. Karen says:

    I think the flap about it is silly. It’s a cultural thing and I hardly think the children are damaged by it. It seems harmless enough to me.

  2. Miko says:

    When I was a child, I attended the baptism of one my blue-eyed baby cousins (these ceremonies are still really common in NZ, even though most people don’t call themselves Christians and certainly don’t behave like them). On that day, there were two babies being attended to by the same priest, witnessed by a very large audience of proud family members. I remember the murmurings about which baby would cry first and the relieved chuckles when one of them finally cracked and burst into tears (to my relief, it wasn’t my cousin).

    Just imagine what a foreign press would make of the ceremony – “cherubic infants water-tortured to tears in cruel religious ceremony.”

  3. Jeni says:

    Lol, water boarding for infants!

  4. Karen says:

    Yes, poor little things, oiling them up, pouring water on them. Barbaric.

Leave a Reply

