My big fat winter break

Pictured is the peaceful seaside resort in the south of Japan, where I stayed for eight days at the end of December.  I spent the whole time sitting around reading, eating, and getting massaged.  I totally improved my mind by slogging my way through four whole books (admittedly three of which were written by Patricia Cornwell, not that there’s anything wrong with that). 

I didn’t speak to anyone at all except to say “more coffee, please” (in the mornings) and “more wine, please” (in the evenings).   And occasionally “a little harder/softer, please” to the masseuse.

And, I only called home once during that whole time!  In fact, I actually forgot about the existence of Benbeam.  Can you believe it?  Of course, I rapidly remembered their presence again when I came home to be faced with a pile of dishes, a mountain of laundry, and a bunch of hairballs the size of my head, not to mention the seven-day working week that pays for their school fees and gourmet petfood.  But I don’t mind a bit, because secretly I’m saving up for another sanity-saving trip at the end of December 2010.  Please do your part to keep me reasonably sane until then.  Thank you.

2 comments on “My big fat winter break

  1. Karen says:

    I’ll try my best. It’s too late for me. My sanity fled in terror years ago.

  2. Miko says:

    I think mine ran off with yours, but still I live in hope of rediscovering it!

Leave a Reply

