I get by with a little help from my (paid) friends

Mary

This story is being widely circulated on various news sites and in various forms, but I can assure you that paying for companionship is nothing new in Japan, or in other countries for that matter.  About half of my private students are paying for me to hear out their problems, in lieu of professional counselling which is still not widely accepted in Japan.  The other half just like the prestige and status of being able to say that they have a private English tutor.   Guess which ones I get along with best.

2 comments on “I get by with a little help from my (paid) friends

  1. Karen says:

    Meh. For most wealthy people, their friends are all “bought”. Same is true when old geezers marry hot young things. If he didn’t have money, she wouldn’t look at him twice. The sad thing is, the old geezer probably thinks his arm candy actually loves him. Yeah, sure. Anna Nicole was madly in love with that 81 year old guy.

  2. Miko says:

    Hey, an 81-year-old millionare would look like George Clooney to me! What I think is really sad is when women marry initially for love, and then stay on for the money (mediocre though it may be) even after the love is gone. They should really aim higher.

Leave a Reply

