All in a day’s work

kirin

Oh, my aching head.  And my aching feet. 

Did I say we were going to the zoo?  Well, we never made it there.  Oh, we headed in the general direction, but decided along the way (well, they decided, I was outvoted) to stop in a kushikatsu restaurant for a fry-up … and a beer or two … or three … or, well, I lost count after four.

Needless to say, we ended up getting rip-roaringly drunk and forgetting all about pandas and zebras. 

Then some of them thought it would be a good idea to take the ropeway up the mountain, and I was dragged along for the ride, whereupon we stopped for more “refreshments” at a hillside terrace restaurant.  (I am frankly surprised that we made it there and back in one piece, considering their drunken shenanigans on the gondola.) 

Back at sea level, we wandered around town sightseeing for a while, before ending up in bakery restaurant that mercifully didn’t serve alcohol.  By that time, I was so tired that I could only plead exhaustion and beg to be allowed to go home.  That didn’t stop them from trying to persuade me to go out bar-hopping with them, though!  (As far as I know, they are still out drinking as I type this.)  Fortunately I escaped and went straight home, laden down with the bags of souvenirs that they pressed upon me: cakes, bread, picture postcards, and bizarrely, daffodil bulbs.  

As we parted, one of them said consolingly, “Don’t be disappointed about missing out on the pandas!  We’ll go there next month, okay?”  I don’t know … I can only hope that there are no drinking establishments in the vicinity of Kobe Zoo.  Can you imagine a bunch of drunken JJs let loose in a zoo?

I never in my wildest dreams thought I would say this, but I am being led astray by a bunch of old-aged pensioners, and they are wearing me out!

The things I do for my job!

2 comments on “All in a day’s work

  1. Karen says:

    Sounds as though you’d better make plans to meet at the zoo rather than go there as a group. This group is easily distracted, apparently. Of course, it would be pensioners that lead you astray. They don’t work, they don’t have kids to care for, they don’t have to get up early the next day. They are free as little birds.

  2. Miko says:

    Yes, that’s the problem: unlimited time, plenty of spending money, and seemingly boundless energy. I’m convinced they’ll out live me! I also suspect that they are catching up on the stuff that they couldn’t do when they jobs/social positions to uphold.

    My body is aching all over today, and I have a full work schedule. I don’t think I’ll be planning any more JJ’s outings on “school” nights, at any rate.

Leave a Reply

