Knock, Knock. Who’s There? Yikes!

This tarantula was on our threshhold as I came back in the house earlier. To give you some perspective, if you’ve never seen one, it was about 5″ across. It scuttled into the house when I opened the door, but I chased it back out. I wonder how the cats would have reacted to it? Not well, I suspect.Tarantula 003

4 comments on “Knock, Knock. Who’s There? Yikes!

  1. Petra says:

    Wow, that is one big ole tarantula! I have no problems with small spiders – if I come across one in the house I catch it and take it outside. But this one I would probably have chased outside with a broom.

  2. karen1945 says:

    It responded well to “Shoo” and herding movements. They are quite fierce looking, but are virtually harmless. Some people even have them as pets. I think I’ll stick to cats and dogs, though. Tarantulas don’t seem very cuddly.

  3. Miko says:

    I’d give it the slipper!

  4. Kirsty says:

    Ugh! Gives me the creeps. I’m bad enough with house spiders, I’d do my nut if I saw one of those. They’re quite common as pets over here – probably because we don’t find them on our doorsteps…

Leave a Reply

