September 30, 2009

The course of true love never did run smooth

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:54 pm by Jane

floatingrose

Last night, on my way home from the station, I happened to be walking behind a couple who were engaged in a heated argument.  It’s not an uncommon situation to be sure, but what made this one unusual (aside of the fact that he happened to be a fat bald badly dressed gaijin in his 40s, and she was a lissome young Japanese lady in her mid-twenties) was that they were arguing in English – a language I rarely get to hear even in Kobe.  

At one stage, the couple glanced behind them, caught sight of me, and immediately switched to arguing in Japanese!   They didn’t miss a beat.  Unfortunately for them, I still understood everything, but like most lovers’ spats it was pretty banal stuff anyway.  Really not worth eavesdropping on.  Funny, though.

5 Comments »

  1. Karen said,

    Don’t you love wandering along and hearing snippets of conversation? Things out of context that are intriguing?

  2. Miko said,

    On a slightly related note, one day I missed the train by a hairs-breadth and screeched “motherfucker!” in frustration, safe in the knowledge that nobody would understand me anyway … only to turn around and see a bunch of missionaries from Utah staring at me in horror …

  3. Petra said,

    Don’t worry, Miko, staring in horror is the natural state for missionaries from Utah. It’s in their genes, I assume.

  4. Miko said,

    Oh, so it wasn’t just me after all! I’d always thought so. Glad to know otherwise.

  5. Karen said,

    Oh, no, Petra is quite right. Missionaries from Utah would be disapproving of a hearty “darn”.


Leave a Reply

