Whistle while you work (if only I had the time)

queen

I have never been this busy in my life, not even back in the days when Sonbeam was a kid and I was working three jobs to pay his private school fees.  I now willingly work seven days a week, usually from 10am to 7pm (not including commuting times, which are long).   JJs looks set to expand, and so do my cultural lectures.  And there’s even a waiting list for my private lessons. 

I’m happy with my life, but I’m tired, bone-tired.  I don’t dare complain about it, though … mainly because so many people are counting on me, but also because I know the day will come when I’m old, disshevelled, and smelly, and nobody will want to know me at all, except possibly my 15 cats and the community care volunteer workers. 

On a related note, I recently discovered that Benjamin’s hideously expensive gourmet petfood includes fish freshly caught from the Seto Inland Sea, Kagoshima, Kochi, and other exotic locations around Japan.

I can’t remember the last time I was offered such wonderful seafood.  Even if I was, I literally wouldn’t have time to eat it, anyway. 

Is something wrong here?

6 comments on “Whistle while you work (if only I had the time)

  1. Karen says:

    As long as you’re reasonably happy, albeit tired, then keeping busy is great. It would probably benefit you in the long run to find a way to have a day or two off regularly, though. You can’t keep up that sort of pace for a protracted time.

  2. Petra says:

    I agree with Karen. One does need time to recharge the batteries.

    As to Benjamin’s food: Our resident felines feast on salmon and turkey twice a day. I don’t begrudge them the turkey, but the salmon makes me jealous.

  3. Miko says:

    I’m definitely jealous of anyone who gets to eat salmon and turkey. I can’t remember the last time I had either of those. Too busy!

    Ben is very smart. He acted all listless and pale over the summer, which panicked me into upgrading his petfood into “product of Japan” category, which is the most expensive here (I should mention that in Japan, being able to buy locally produced non-Chinese products is the ultimate status symbol these days, unless you are talking about Swiss watches, German cars, French handbags, Italian shoes … and NZ honey. It’s kind of like the “organic” thing in other countries). So now he’s perked right up, and gotten used to the expensive stuff, and there’s no way I can go back to the mediocre feed that I was offering him before, even though that wasn’t exactly cheap either.

    Like I said, smart cat.

    Foolish owner.

  4. Petra says:

    Smart cat.

    Happy slave.

    That’s how I see my position re. cats. I mean, I could break the chains any time. But I don’t. So – not too much complaining from me.

    I also assume that every bowl filled with delicious meals for the furry critters is a deposit into the Karma Bank. I want to come back as a cat in a household like mine, pretty please.

  5. Miko says:

    A couple of weeks ago Sonbeam bought a home-gym and set it up in our already tiny, cramped apartment. Ben thinks it’s his new bed, and that we bought it specially for him!

  6. Karen says:

    Well, there is a saying: Everything that is not a cat toy is a cat bed.

Leave a Reply

