Ben is not well

ihasasad

In the past few weeks we’ve noticed that he is even lazier than usual.  He’s not ill.  He eats well, drinks plenty of water, and has no trouble evacuating, but he just doesn’t have the same pep and verve that he used to.  Nowadays all he wants to do is lie about and sleep.  He won’t play any games with me.  He rarely gets into mischief.  These days the only time he shows any signs of enthusiasm is when Sonbeam gets home from work, and even then only for a short while. 

Ben will be 10 years old next month.  According to my research, most healthy indoor cats can expect to live until 15 if not longer.  Why is my pampered puss  aging so quickly?  I wish I knew.  So far I haven’t taken him to the vet (as I’ve said, he eats well, evacuates well,  and isn’t in any obvious pain) but I wonder if I should do so just to have him checked out for incurable diseases.  If it turns out that he has one, then sorry but my response will be swift and painless.  It’s the least I can do.  I only hope that somebody has the courage to do the same for me, some day.

8 comments on “Ben is not well

  1. Karen says:

    You probably should take him to the vet if this has been going on for a while. May be nothing. Have you felt him all over for any obvious signs of problems?

  2. Petra says:

    10 years – that would be about the age a cat settles down into a less active mode.

    I would suggest to take him to the vet, if you feel so inclined; it never hurts to have a check-up, never mind how many legs one has. But generally speaking it appears to me that Ben the Cat is settling down comfortably into his “Golden Years”.

  3. Miko says:

    Ben has perked up considerably since the summer heat levelled off yesterday. Perhaps he was suffering from heat exhaustion, the poor thing.

    This morning he barged into the lav when I was sitting on the throne, and demanded that I stroke his ears. Is there no respite for me?

  4. Karen says:

    That’s one of the reasons I like my cats. They’ll come right in the WC with me, and act as if my shit doesn’t stink. However, a couple of times, I have seen one go to the litter box in the bathroom, and peer in as if to say, “Did I do that?” If I shut the door, I get yowling from the other side, and furry paws reaching under the door.

  5. Petra says:

    Yes, heat might be an explanation too. Cats just shut down and wait until it is over.

    Does Ben have Siamese genes? Both Mr. Anatol (my very first cat and a Siamese) so many years ago and Iko-Chan today insist on accompanying me into the bathroom. Now and then – no ear stroking = howling.

    My present Siamese slaveholder does this only with me. Anatol did it with others too. Not for friendly petting, though, he jumped onto a cupboard in the bathroom and stared down from there; many a time a somewhat flustered visitor left the bathroom, came up to me and whispered: “Could you please fetch that cat out of there? It irritates me so much, I can’t…”

  6. Miko says:

    I think that explains the origin of the term “peeping Tom.”

  7. Karen says:

    Some of our interior doors have lever door handles. Ginger can open these doors if the door pushes inward from her. She has startled more than one bathroom visitor by opening the shut door and strolling in to visit while they are on the potty.

Leave a Reply

