When nature calls … every few minutes

stressed_cat

What do you think of this?  Recently, in the past few weeks, one of my male co-workers (50-ish) is running off to the lav every 30 minutes or so.  He looks really tired and stressed all the time, and gets obviously distressed if he doesn’t have immediate access to a restroom.   He’s lost weight, too.  I’m a bit worried about him.  I’m pretty certain that he doesn’t have a drug or drink habit, and I suspect that it’s a health issue, most likely stomach trouble.  Have you ever heard of such a thing?  I’m wondering if I should broach the subject with him, and advise him to see a doctor (which he probably hasn’t done yet, being a typical male).  Even if I pluck up the courage to do so, it will be incredibly awkward for both of us.  Maybe I should just let it go.  It’s not my problem, after all.

4 comments on “When nature calls … every few minutes

  1. Karen says:

    Could also be a bladder or prostate problem. Can you leave an anonymous note for him expressing concern and urging him to go to a doctor. That might be least embarrassing for all.

  2. Petra says:

    Sounds very much like prostate to me. Oh dear – what a delicate approach this needs, especially with a Japanese male.

  3. Miko says:

    It could be either diabetes or prostate – I suspect the latter – but whatever the case, I don’t really know how to broach the subject with him except perhaps by hogging the loos (we only have two, to be shared by 60 people at any given time) during working hours and forcing him to face up to the situation. The poor guy, he really does look miserable!

    Ah, the things we have to worry about as we get older. It doesn’t seem fair.

Leave a Reply

