Sometimes I think that reading about Japan is more interesting than living in Japan

Stuff like this.  Don’t forget to read the comments, which are almost as interesting.

3 comments on “Sometimes I think that reading about Japan is more interesting than living in Japan

  1. Karen says:

    It wanted me to sign up for the NY Times, which I won’t do. I just don’t want my name on any more lists.

  2. Jeni says:

    Wow, yeah, no wonder everyone in the US thinks Japan is one of the weirdest places on Earth. I can’t say I blame them when I read articles like that one. Can’t say much that interesting happens around here but maybe I am just not part of that kind of scene… Karen–the NYtimes doesn’t send any emails at all if you do sign up so you don’t have to worry about spam. At least, I have never gotten any from them.

  3. Miko says:

    I agree, never had any problem with NYT, certainly not with spam, and the registration process is swift and non-invasive (still wish they didn’t have it, though!). As for the article, well it was the usual Japanese-people-are-weird thing, this time involving men and pillows. I think it must be a Tokyo thing, as I’ve never encountered anything like it in Kobe or Osaka.

    We don’t like being tarred with the same brush as the freaks of Tokyo. Unfortunately, they are the ones who make the news.

Leave a Reply

