QUICK QUICK QUICK

urgent

I’m in the middle of a dialogue with a city worker, regarding a translation of a PSA about food poisoning prevention that is going to be published in local newspapers and newsletters this coming week.  It’s not a big huge deal, but she takes issue with one small change that I made to her version.  Here are the sentences in question:

Hers:  “Summer is the season that food poisoning is liable to occur.”

Mine:  “The summer season is when food poisoning is most likely to occur.”

Specifically, she wants to know whether her use of “liable” is incorrect (I don’t believe it is) and if so, in what cases can she use it?  As for me, I’m not concerned with details, I’m far more concerned with getting the message across that a very dangerous strain of E.coli tends to break out in the hot, humid Japanese summers, which gaijin may not be accustomed with, and that it can be  prevented with proper hygiene and food handling habits.    Which sentence has the most impact on you?

4 comments on “QUICK QUICK QUICK

  1. Karen says:

    Yours. It carries more of a sense of urgency & possibility.

  2. Jeni says:

    Liable is not incorrect but most likely is better and more natural.

  3. Jeni says:

    So, yours has the greater impact…

  4. Miko says:

    Thank you for your comments. I knew I was right! I’ve explained your opinions to her, it carries great weight that educated Americans agree with me.

Leave a Reply

