Don’t tell Benjamin!

business This past week has been one of the most stressful all year, and I’m no stranger to work stress.  On Tuesday I had to go all the way to Wakayama (a four-hour round trip by express train) to give a 90-minute lecture about Western culture.  On Thursday and Friday I had to give two lectures in Osaka for a national teachers’ association regarding Western style education (and they were very well-received, thanks to your help!).  The lectures themselves were not so hard, but preparing for them was. 

I also had to oversee operations at all four JJs Cafes – not that it’s such a hardship to sit around sipping coffee and chatting with extremely pleasant and well-read people, but when you have to go to three different places in one day, as I did today, it can get a bit stressful, especially when you can’t get their names and details straight. 

And on top of all that, I had my usual hectic round of private lessons, tutorials, translating assignments, and cram school.  I feel exhausted.

You know, I like my life very much, but during weeks like these, I have to stop, grit my teeth, and remind myself, “Miko, you wanted this, remember?”  It can be hard sometimes.

Anyway, I have some good news! I have fallen in love with one of the JJs regulars.  We’ve only known each other a few weeks, but I can no longer deny my feelings for him.  He’s Belgian, with huge brown eyes and lovely brown hair.  The first time I laid eyes on him, my heart skipped a beat, and obviously he felt the same way, because as soon as he saw me from across the room, he came over and laid his head in my lap. 

His name is Koo, and he looks like this.  Don’t you think he’s gorgeous?

2 comments on “Don’t tell Benjamin!

  1. Karen says:

    Oh, yes, he is a hunk. I’ve seen them on TV, and they are wonderful dogs. Our first police dog was a Belgian Malinois. They have many of the same characteristics as the Tervuren, and even look similar. Kawan (the police dog) was a wonderful animal. I saw firsthand, though, how focused he was on his police handler, though.

    Fortunately, every week is not like last, huh? You may be somewhat stressed out, but you also love it. Give in to the “love it” and forget about the stress.

  2. Miko says:

    Yes thank you, at times like these I take stock and ask myself “are the highs worth the lows?” and the answer is an unqualified “YES!” This is the first time in my whole life that I’ve been able to say this. Isn’t it great? I’m loving my 40s so far.

    I didn’t know the Belgians were also trained as police dogs, but it doesn’t surprise me. In NZ Alsatians are more commonly used and they are extremely popular as pets, too.

    The unusual thing about Koo is that (according to his doting owner) he is not too smart. But I say that with his looks, he doesn’t need brains. And he has great taste in woman!

Leave a Reply

