Simple pleasures

spiralpasta

Today is a public holiday in Japan, and both the Sonbeam and I had a rare day off work/school, which we spent largely trying to stay out of each other’s way.  I can’t tell you how nice it was to wake up this morning naturally, without the alarm clock going off at 6AM, and the usual rush-hour panic.  It was even nicer to go out grocery shopping for proper food: taking my own sweet time, comparing prices, labels, and products, and not being in a rush to get to the checkout before closing – oh, it was so nice!  And even nicer than that was coming home at lunchtime to make my perennial summer favourite – Pasta Salad (a pot of boiled pasta, a couple of tins of oil-packed tuna and corn, chopped green onions and cucumber, a dollop of mayonnaise and a dash of curry powder).  But the nicest thing of all was seeing the happy glint in Sonbeam’s eye when I announced that I had actually cooked a proper meal for once.  He almost ate the whole pot!  I realised with a pang of guilt just how little time I’m spending at home these days, and how long it’s been since I cooked something from scratch.  I actually felt a bit sad.

I mean, it’s all very well to go out and bring home the bacon (or pasta, or whatever).  But it’s a different thing to cook it and serve it to people you love.  Personally I’m looking forward to the day when I won’t need to do the former, but will happily do the latter.  It’s how I plan to spend my retirement.  Most women don’t know how lucky they are.

Leave a Reply

