July 16, 2009

Speaking of Duct Tape…

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:58 pm by karen1945

This is just amazing. These are prom dresses/outfits made from duct tape. It’s an annual competition for scholarships. How fantastic is that? The outfits are fabulous. They look way better than the prom dresses we wore, back in the day. Of course, that was so long ago, we had bustles.

It is just this sort of flair that makes me not worry about the younger generation. Young people with that much imagination, brains, and talent will not let the world down.

Oh, and about our prom dresses, I wasn’t kidding. Here’s a photo of me (the blonde on the left) and 2 other gals in one our prom dresses, circa 1962. All our dresses are very blah compared with the duct tape dresses. We had to wear those cumbersome awkward hoop petticoats too.

Karen Senior Yearsmall

6 Comments »

  1. Miko said,

    What a great pic! You look gorgeous. Are you still in touch with any of the others?

  2. Karen said,

    I saw the blond guy at a reunion a couple of years ago. He’s bald now. I’m in touch sort of second hand with the guy on the far right. He’s married to the sister of a good friend who now lives in Sun City. We lunch with her and her husband (also went to our high school) about once a month. The guy whose bow tie I’m “adjusting” (I never dated him or either of the other two), died back in the 90s. The two girls, no idea where they are.

  3. Miko said,

    Well, you were quite the stunner. That colour is gorgeous on you. Did you buy or rent the dress?

  4. Karen said,

    I think it was a borrowed one. My mom had friends with daughters my age or older and I had friends, too, who all went to different schools than I did. We could wear each others’ prom dresses, and as far as people at our schools knew, they were our new dresses. It saved all of us lots of money. I think we did that with at least 3 or 4 proms. Our school had 2 proms a year; one for only juniors and seniors, and one that anyone could attend. I was asked to every prom starting from when I was a freshman. It was a BIG deal back then. So, instead of buying 2 formals a year, we could buy only 1 or maybe not even 1, if we could borrow.

  5. Miko said,

    I wish I could show my ladies that pic, they would get such a kick out of it. Some of them are the same age as you, yet never dated at all and didn’t get to meet their own husbands until their wedding day! (Don’t knock it, they are very happy women now and love their husbands.) The idea of proms is still quite a novel idea in Japan, but it’s regarded as a good one. I’d like to see it introduced here. (By the way, we had similar shin-digs in NZ back in the day, but I used to show up in jeans! Not very fancy. But hey, they were my best jeans.)

    I can see why you were so popular. How did the boys ask you to the prom? Did they do it in person, or through an intermediary? Did promising to go to a prom with a boy mean that you were an “item?”

  6. Karen said,

    The guys asked directly, but some did so on the phone I imagine, although I don’t recall for sure. Going to a prom together didn’t mean that we were an “item”. It was just a a date. Most of the guys I went to prom with weren’t my boyfriends.


Leave a Reply

