Putting the sexy in sexagenerian

audrey

Years and years ago, an older and wiser friend told me that “men peak at 16, and women peak at 60!”  Naturally I assumed she was joking (knowing her, she was), but recently I’m starting to change my mind.  You see, I’ve started hanging out with a bunch of beautiful, stylish 60-ish ladies, and they are so much fun. They are changing my whole idea of growing older, and I am filled with gratitude for the exemplary examples that they set me.  Thanks to them, I’ve stopped being frightened of getting older, and actually started looking forward to it. 

What’s so fun about them, you ask?  Well, where do I start?  They no longer bother trying to impress males (something I’ve never seen the point of doing anyway) but they do make an effort to impress their friends, because their friends are important to them.  They love babysitting their grandkids, but they love giving them back even more.  They don’t dress for anyone but themselves … but they really love themselves, and therefore dress beautifully in wonderfully cut clothing in natural fabrics.   They don’t buy jewellery or handbags for the labels, they buy them because they personally like them, regardless of the price or label.  They don’t suffer fools gladly, but they do have a lot of tolerance for everyone else (including me, thank goodness).  They recognise quality when they see it, and are happy to spread the word (including me, thank goodness).  They are unashamedly adoring of their hard-working, long-suffering husbands, and go out of their way to spoil them and make life comfortable for them, which is so sweet to observe, it almost makes me wish I had a husband!  They have really good gaydar (something in which I am sorely lacking).  They know what they like, they know how to get it, but they don’t really care if they get it or not, because life is no longer a competition for them.

(One thing I cannot understand is, why do they wear such dowdy shoes?)

The happiest women I know are women around the age of 60.  I don’t know why, but I have my theories.  What are yours?

Anyway, what am I supposed to do with the next 20-odd years of my life, until I reach this happy state of nirvana?  Don’t get me wrong, I’m very happy, but I feel so bored sometimes.  I’m 41, and I still haven’t figured out what I’m supposed to be doing with my life.   Surely there’s more to life than this?  Or perhaps I have to wait until I’m 60 to find out.   Well, it looks like it will be worth the wait, if my new friends are anything to go by.

2 comments on “Putting the sexy in sexagenerian

  1. Karen says:

    Sweetie, I was in my sexual peak in my 40s. You need to hook up. As for the gaydar, every woman needs a really good male gay friend. They are invaluable for all sorts of reasons.

    So, you’ve found out the secrets of sixties ladies. It’s great, isn’t it. Hey, you don’t have to wait to start doing the same things. No reason you can’t be that fabulous right now. And we wear dowdy shoes because most of us have foot problems from years of wearing stylish shoes that killed our feet. Remember, we no longer give a crap about impressing – well, anyone. We like to look good, but comfort is essential.

  2. Miko says:

    I’d like to do all those things too (well, maybe not the orthopaedic shoes just yet) if it weren’t for one thing … MONEY! Unlike women in my age group, women in their sixties tend to have pots of disposable income (because they are no longer paying school/dental fees, etc) and they aren’t hesitant about lavishing it on themselves … and luckily for me, their less-moneyed friends. I am learning a lot from them. Roll on 60!

Leave a Reply

