Sweets to the sweet

wine

Today I had my usual Sunday lesson with a young couple on the other side of the island.  They had some very good personal news to share, and wanted to celebrate by cracking open a bottle of wine with me.  The wine they chose to drink was something called Canadian Icewine, which I had never heard of before (actually, it was the first time for all of us).  Now don’t get me wrong, I like sweet things, but this wine was so cloyingly sweet that we nearly spat it out at first sip!   Oh, you would’ve laughed to see our faces!  It was a great effort to choke the rest of the bottle down, which we did out of politeness, and we were relieved when it was finished.  Have you ever tried “ice wine” before?  If so, how on earth did you stand it?

3 comments on “Sweets to the sweet

  1. Karen says:

    Never even heard of it. It sounds like an after-dinner wine.

  2. Petra says:

    I know Ice Wine from Germany – and yes, it is regarded as a dessert wine, to be drunk in very small quantities. That you polished off a bottle of the stuff is quite amazing and the pinnacle of politeness in my book.

    Wikipedia is, as so often, a source able to explain Ice Wine much better than I can:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ice_wine

    Ice Wine is very rare and quite, quite expensive. That’s one of the reasons why it usually comes in half bottles, at least in Germany.

    I am not very partial to it. Too sweet for my taste.

  3. Miko says:

    Yes, much too sweet. I’m not sure I’ll ever try it again (not that I’m ever likely to get the chance anyway). Perhaps this was cosmic payback for the whiskey bonbon thing.

Leave a Reply

