My sentiments exactly

kitty

“This is the true joy in life, the being used for a purpose recognised by yourself as a mighty one, the being thoroughly worn out before you are thrown on the scrap heap; the being a force of nature instead of a feverish little clod of ailments and grievances complaining that the world will not devote itself to making you happy.”

Thank you for that, George Bernard Shaw.

“When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me.’”

And thank you for that, Erma Bombeck … along with “Insanity is hereditary.  You catch it from your kids.”  (She should’ve added cats.  I’m convinced that the two of them are conspiring to drive me crazy.)

4 comments on “My sentiments exactly

  1. Karen says:

    The best bit of advice I’ve ever received came from my college roommate when I was a sophomore. It was basically, “Get out of yourself”. Find ways to do things for other people, actually be interested in them, ask them about their problems, their lives. If you’re busy helping other people, you really don’t have time to worry about your own little problems.

  2. Miko says:

    Yes, I agree. I am becoming renowned for my listening ear, and several of my private students have told me that they find our “English lessons” to be very healing and encouraging experiences. They always say that they feel better after talking with me. (I don’t know why. I don’t give advice, all I do is listen to their tales of woe, say “mmm, mmm, mmm” and think about what to have for dinner.) Anyway, it feels good to be of service, even though I’m not a professional.

    However, I think that it’s good to be selfish too. This morning I spent two hours counselling a private student who is going through 57 shades of hell right now because she’s woken up and realised that she’s spent her whole adult life putting other people’s needs first. I tried to get her to list ways she could nurture herself more, and she couldn’t do it – she literally can’t even sit down for a cup of coffee by herself without feeling horrendously guilty.

    It’s hard to imagine a man in the same predicament, isn’t it?

  3. Karen says:

    Yes, it’s possible to take the “nurturing” too far. We have a neighbor somewhat like that.

    Listening is what people usually need. They don’t necessarily want advice, just someone to talk to.

  4. Miko says:

    Perhaps that’s why I find blogging so helpful, because it feels like someone is actually listening to me (even if no-one is). I would say that 95% of the stuff I blog about is stuff that I cannot share with anybody in real life. When I was a child and an adolescent I kept a diary for the same purpose. When I read them years later, I had a good laugh! Some of the stuff I used to agonise over.

Leave a Reply

