My latest addiction

rosetea

I’ll come right out and say it, even though I’m horribly embarrassed: I’m a tea addict.   I slurp down four or five cups every single morning before leaving for work, and sometimes I even brew up a pot when I get home from work late at night (which might just explain my chronic sleeping problems).  I can’t function without the stuff.  Most days I drink medium-grade Japanese green tea, but I love high quality English teas – especially Lady Grey – and Chinese jasmine tea too. 

Recently I attended a rose festival, and while there I sampled some kind of Chinese rose tea (pictured).  I’d never heard of the stuff before, but as soon as I took a sip, I was hooked … it was mild, fragrant, and simply wonderful, like nectar.  Apparently it’s very healthy too.  This particular brand is not cheap, and is only available by mail order, but I’ve already ordered several bags of the stuff.  I plan to drink it every morning, brewing it up in my beloved Royal Albert pot that Karen sent me a few years ago for Christmas. 

By the way, that pot sure gets a lot of wear and tear!  It’s the first thing I see every morning (excepting Ben’s pissed-off “feed me” face) and sometimes the last thing I see at night.  I’m even thinking of knitting a tea cosy for it.

2 comments on “My latest addiction

  1. Karen says:

    I’m that addicted to coffee. I’m pretty snarly till I’ve had my first cuppa. I’m so pleased to hear that you are getting some use out of the tea pot.

  2. Miko says:

    I love coffee too, and have a couple of courtesy cups at JJs, but at heart I’m really a tea drinker.

Leave a Reply

