Cross my palm with silver

Palm_ReadingI had my palm read today, by a novice fortune teller.   The Japanese are very superstitious, and women especially tend to set great store by the predictions of these scam artists people, so I sometimes go along with friends just for a lark.  But I have to admit that not a believer, and I’ve been skeptical since my early teens when a palm reader in NZ told me three things: that I would move to live permanently in another country, that I would have only one child, and that my adult life would be boring and uneventful (okay, so two out of three ain’t bad). 

Today the young lady scrutinised my palm carefully, and said, “You don’t have many lines … you seem to be a very simple person.”  When I protested indignantly, she added “You always know what you want, and you know how to get it.  You don’t bother with anything else.  That’s why you are so simple.”  Okay, I couldn’t argue with that, because it’s true. 

Then she said, with some puzzlement, “According to this hand, you should be dead by now!” 

Actually I think I prefer “boring and uneventful” after all.

4 comments on “Cross my palm with silver

  1. Karen says:

    That’s why I don’t go to those charlatans, and why I don’t read Tarot cards any more. It’s likely to scare people half to death.

  2. Miko says:

    I agree, it’s a load of codswallop and I don’t let it bother me, but sometimes a bit eerie when they get things right.

    Since yesterday I’ve become a little self-conscious that my palms don’t have many lines or creases compared with others … I think it’s a sign that I’ve managed to avoid hard work for most of my life!

  3. Karen says:

    In college, I went with friends a couple of times to a palm reader way out in the back woods. She told all the girls the same thing. We were all going to meet a tall dark man in uniform. I did get the tall dark right. But he didn’t get the uniform till 6 months after we were married. There were one or two Catholic girls in our group, and they worried about the sin they were committing by going to a fortune teller, be they went any way. It was deliciously on the dark side. I never did quite understand the Catholic Church’s objection. It’s as much a load of superstition as the palm reading. Maybe they didn’t want people to figure that out.

  4. Miko says:

    Still, it’s pretty cool that your prediction came true!

Leave a Reply

