The Okinawan secret to longevity

Octupus, squid, and snake.

15 comments on “The Okinawan secret to longevity

  1. Karen says:

    What would be the point of living that long if I had to eat tofu and snake?

  2. Petra says:

    I probably could just live with eating snake (I assume it tastes like chicken), but tofu is just – oh dear, oh dear, – no, that’s too steep a price to pay for longevity.

  3. Miko says:

    I tried ground-up snake, in Okinawa. It didn’t impress me. But tofu, yummy, yum, yum! Try it chilled in summer, with ginger paste, green onions, and soy sauce.

  4. Petra says:

    Miko, I tried it so many ways, I really did. It is no use – it’s the texture I don’t like.

  5. Karen says:

    Ditto that, Petra.

  6. Karen says:

    BTW, I have eaten things neither of you would probably ever consider, like frog legs, alligator, and bison testicles. All were delicious.

  7. Miko says:

    No, never eaten those, but several of my students have, on overseas trips. I’m not too adventurous food-wise, although I’ll never say never to a new food experience. Japanese eat the weirdest shit I’ve ever seen in my life. Sometimes the food is still actually alive and moving. Oh well, the fresher the better I suppose.

  8. Petra says:

    Frog legs – check
    Alligator – check
    Bison testicles – check

    The best was the alligator, with flash fried oysters. Yummy.

  9. Miko says:

    I’m sticking to my tofu, thank you very much!

  10. Karen says:

    I thought the bison testicles were great. Very rich flavor. It could have been the way they were prepared, too. Oddly enough, I’ve never eaten snake, although I would, if someone offered it to me. I’ve eaten chicken feet though, an experience I won’t repeat. Not delicious by any means.

  11. Petra says:

    Chicken feet – check

    They’re big in Spain. And I agree with you, that is something one can very easily live without. In a pinch I would say they rank even below tofu.

    My bison testicle came as a salad – nicely sliced and spiced up.

    Did you ever have ostrich? Quite delicious.

  12. Karen says:

    No, no ostrich. The bison was thinly sliced, breaded and deep fried. The flavor of the meat is rich, but is one of the leanest meats available. Indeed, I’d choose tofu over chicken feet, too. I’ve never tried pickled pigs feet, either, and don’t intend too. Or head cheese.

  13. Petra says:

    Pickled pigs feet, head cheese – big in Germany (in certain areas). Never had it, never intend to.

    The most revolting dish in the area where I used to live is “blood & sawdust.” Okay, actually there is no sawdust involved, it is a mixture of blood, very fatty bacon, flour and pearly barley. The more flour and barley is used, the drier the stuff gets, hence my calling it “sawdust.”

    One buys this stuff at the butcher, in thick slices and is then supposed to fry it up and eat it. The one time when my curiosity overcame me I only got to the frying-up stage – I could not force myself to eat it.

    This dish, like many others, originated way back then when people used to butcher their own pigs and to use up everything of the pig except the squeak.

  14. Miko says:

    Is that like black pudding? I had it once in NZ, not too nice ….

  15. Petra says:

    Yes, it is similar to black pudding, as far as I know.

    You probably gathered that I am a rather adventurous eater; so for me to NOT eat something speaks volumes about the “not too nice-ness” of the stuff.

Leave a Reply

