What happened to the astronauts?

Mont-Saint-Michel

Today I asked my 4th graders two questions: where do you want to go, and what do you want to be when you grow up?  Here, in no particular order, are their answers:

Where do you want to go?

1.  Hawaii

2.  Tokyo Disneyland

3.  Italy

4.  Mon-St-Michel

5.  London

6.  Papua New Guinea (???)

7.  Shanghai

8.  Monaco

9.  Kenya

10.  Game centre 

(What, no New Zealand?  I need to do a little more promotion.)

What do you want to be when you grow up?

1.   Baseball/soccer player

2.  Nail artist/hair stylist

3.  Pet groomer

4.  Doctor

5.  Nursery school teacher

6.  Dolphin trainer

7.  Zookeeper

8.  Piano teacher

9.  Shogi (Japanese chess) master

10.  Game centre owner

Not one kid replied housewife, salaryman, accountant, or public school teacher.  Yet I bet that’s what most of them end up becoming. 

What did you want to be?  I wanted to be a writer.  Instead I became a battleaxe.

2 comments on “What happened to the astronauts?

  1. Karen says:

    I wonder if fireman or policeman would make the list in USA? They always used to.

  2. Miko says:

    Well, I had one boy tell me that he wanted to be a “hero” which amounts to the same thing. Hey have you noticed that a couple of those occupations literally didn’t exist when we were kids? Pet groomer, for one!

Leave a Reply

