Rose red

massage

Today heralds the official end of my birthday.  I got a free full body massage, pedicure, and reflexology session from Murata-san, for being such a good customer.  It lasted for three hours.  For the first time, I noticed that there are distinct themes to my massage sessions.  It’s a total sensory experience.  For example, today’s theme was “roses.”  My footbath had fresh rose petals in it.  The massage oil was essence of rose.  My slippers were adorned with roses, and so were the curtains, and the towels in the bathroom.  The magazines in the waiting room were all about roses and rose festivals.  The after-massage sweet was a pink cake delicately shaped like a rose, and my takeaway gift was a package of rose-hip tea, a small rose-shaped soap, and a small vial of rose oil. 

Other themes in the past:  Rainforest, Scandinavia, Lavender, Bali (my favourite, because I love gamelan), English Garden (the curtains and cushions were especially beautiful), Clouds, China (great tea), and on one memorable occasion, Kenya Safari (the sound effects were incredible!). 

In fact, the only thing she hasn’t done is Japan.  Or America, or Germany, or NZ for that matter. 

Perhaps it’s just as well.  What would a NZ-themed massage session be like? 

No, I don’t really want to know.

2 comments on “Rose red

  1. Karen says:

    Sheep dip?

  2. Miko says:

    YES! Complete with sound effects. Followed by a brisk rubbing down with a sheepskin rug. And a jar of lanolin cream to take home.

    OMG, I think I’m getting homesick.

Leave a Reply

