I can see why they call it a “scramble”

All those people! (audio slideshow, 2:30 minutes)

But I’m a bit puzzled that scrambles don’t exist in London.  How can that be?  I’m pretty certain that most medium/big cities have them … I seem to remember crossing them daily in downtown Auckland, even.  By the way, did you know that Japanese scrambles routinely have signals that count down the number of seconds until the next crossing?  That’s how time-pressed most working people are here.  We live our lives counting down the seconds.

2 comments on “I can see why they call it a “scramble”

  1. Petra says:

    The only place in the US I know of with a “scramble” is in Pasadena, CA.

    I have never come across one in Europe.

    Good for London to introduce one.

    And, by the way, I love the roundabouts in the UK. A great way to keep traffic flowing – and to frighten away all out-of-state-drivers, as if driving on the “wrong” side of the road isn’t enough. (My secret always was: if going to the UK intending to drive, I took my own car. No problem there, because as long as one swims with the traffic one can’t go wrong; but sitting inside a car with the gear shift on the wrong side – that really is frightening.)

  2. Miko says:

    Ah, the humble roundabout! They simply don’t exist in Japan. Several of my students have embarrassedly reported being involved in minor accidents on roundabouts in NZ and Australia … but fortunately driving on the left was no problem.

Leave a Reply

