People’s marriages are a mystery to me #6,987

goro
I have a brand new friend-of-a-friend-type-friend who sometimes confides in me about her unsatisfactory marriage. That’s no problem, I’ve heard it all, especially in this land where most people still believe that even a bad marriage is better than no marriage at all.  Nothing wrong with that.

Anyway, according to her, hubby is something of a wastrel who can’t hold down a job for more than a few months at a time, and regularly racks up debt betting on the horses, whereas she’s a university lecturer who works at three different teaching jobs to support their little family and pay off the money he owes.

To me, she seems like such a superbly capable woman, and he seems like such a tosser, that the other day I curiously asked why she stays with him. Her reply: “Well, he’s great with our kids … and the sex is so damned good.” I nearly fell out of my seat with laughter! Imagine one of my stuffy Kobe matrons saying such a thing! No, you can’t imagine it, and neither can I.

Unfortunately for me, that very night we all went out to a restaurant for my birthday party (well, one of them), and the husband happened to be sitting adjacent to me. All I could do was stare at him – paunchy, balding, and very shy – as he quietly sipped his beer and think: so you’re a sex machine, are you!

How I wish she’d never told me that.

3 comments on “People’s marriages are a mystery to me #6,987

  1. Jennifer says:

    I guess you can’t judge a book by it’s cover–or a sexual dynamo by it’s beer belly and bald head. I appreciate the draw of great sex but I am sure she could find someone who is not a wastrel and is a great lover.

  2. karen says:

    I think probably less attractive men might often be better lovers because they have to work at attracting and keeping women, whereas a knock-down handsome fellow just thinks women should bow down to him for his looks.

  3. Miko says:

    Perhaps that’s true, but I still can’t help holding out for a man who’s a good provider, a great lay, and Brad Pitt’s body double. Or two of the three, at least.

Leave a Reply

