Holy Hookers, Batman

Okay, I thought we had a leg up on trashy weddings in the Southern US. But, this one makes a redneck wedding look classy. Apparently, the streetwalker look is the newest fad for the bride. I’ve never seen such a display of hideous dresses and mammaries. Please note the mother’s outfit, too. It looks as if she has on a bra that’s attached to a skirt. I swear, I’ve seen something that looked just like that top in the lingerie section of a Sears catalogue in the 1950s. I’m putting in two different links, so you have the best selection of photos of rampant trashiness.

Daily Mail

Closer Online

5 comments on “Holy Hookers, Batman

  1. Petra says:

    Oh dear… when I saw the photo with the mother of the bride, I thought: “She’s 32 years old.” Turns out, I was only off by one year.

    Then, when I read that her family was described as “travelers”, I did not wonder any longer. “Traveler” is a polite way to say “gypsy” in the UK. And yes, they do that – these over the top weddings are quite common. That much I know from Germany. Although this shindig seems to have been even more expensive than what is usually the case – and a whole lot less tasteful.

  2. Miko says:

    Oh, I am getting so many ideas for my nuptials with The Clooney!

    I hear ya, Petra. The first thing I thought was “Dad is a crime boss” and the next thing was “gypsies.” I don’t know much about them personally, only to say that virtually every single one of my globetrotting students has had encounters with them (not very happy ones) in almost every big city in Europe but especially in Italy and Spain. Some were robbed on their honeymoons! It’s gotten to the stage that I routinely have to warn my students about gypsy tactics (begging, petty thieving, using children and babies as props, etc). Of course we have our share of scam artists in Japan too, but they usually only target fellow Japanese, otherwise I would warn gaijin tourists about them. Remind me to post about them someday, you wouldn’t believe their tactics! Only in Japan.

  3. Karen says:

    Oh, definitely post about them, Miko. If we have a traveler problem in the US, I’m unaware of it.

  4. Petra says:

    In the town where I grew up, two large extended „gypsy“ families lived; interestingly one was a Sinti family, the other one a Roma family.

    That did not mean that they lived in caravans or such, they had houses, some of them quite large and beautifully kept; others were a bit run down and smallish. The main difference between those two groups was simply this: One had settled completely, the other one stayed in town only during winter; come spring they started traveling, leaving only the very young and the very old behind. (And no, I do not remember which group did what.)

    The settled family ran businesses – mainly taxi companies and other firms involved with transportation and such. The traveling family worked in circuses and fun fairs all over Europe, they traded carpets, worked on farms and as truck drivers. In winter they stayed in town and lived off what they had earned during the rest of the year.

    There was never a problem in town with these families, there was no begging, no stealing, nothing one usually associates with gypsies. If they were involved in any of this stuff, they did it somewhere else. The less settled family also kept more to their traditional way of living – for example males and females did not share a bathroom in the home and girls from puberty on were much more sheltered than girls in the non-traditional extended family.

    And they had these weddings! Huge affairs, lasting for days, with other members from the extended family coming from all over Europe to take part.

    As to the Roma and Sinti mentioned, here is a map showing how they are distributed in Europe. Generally speaking the Roma seems to be the less well off group, the one which today in Europe is associated with begging, stealing and poverty.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Romani_groups

  5. Miko says:

    Thanks for the first-hand info, Petra, I’ll be sure to pass it on. I had no knowledge at all about gypsies apart from what my friends and students have told me about the poor ones who hang around the tourist traps. Unfortunately Japanese make easy targets, both overseas and in their own land.

    Yes I’ll post more about Japanese scams today. I sure know a lot about those!

Leave a Reply

