And some people call me a diva?

divapuss

Last weekend the Crown Prince and the Crown Princess attended a greenery event in beautiful Yokohama. It was Masako’s first outing since her somewhat unsuccessful trip to the Nagano athletics meet last year, in which she showed up only for the opening ceremony and typically cancelled all her subsequent appearances because of “not feeling well.”

This time things were different. For starters, the local government was prepared. In advance it made two different kinds of brochures and media kits to promote the event (costing the taxpayers roughly 10,000 dollars which isn’t too bad, actually). One version featured Masako, and the other didn’t … because it’s never known until the last minute whether she’s in the mood for showing up or not, so one has to be prepared for either possibility. Fortunately she did show up this time, and all went well. Perhaps it’s a sign that she’s on the road to recovery. It’s hard to say, as there have been so many false alarms before.

I can’t really comment on the state of her health, but I sure wish I could work a whole weekend every couple of years and do nothing for rest of the time, least of all paying taxes.

9 comments on “And some people call me a diva?

  1. Karen says:

    Her problem is so puzzling. I think she wants to do her duty – or maybe not. I just don’t know what could be wrong. It just doesn’t seem fair to the Japanese people.

  2. Jennifer says:

    It is hard to tell if she really is sick or is just malingering. Stress-related anxiety can come on suddenly and seemingly without a trigger. When my dh was having his bouts of anxiety in Singapore they just came on at times when you wouldn’t expect it at all. I know he wasn’t faking it and that it made things so hard for him in Singapore that he asked for the transfer back to Kochi. Once there his condition improved and he hasn’t had any bouts since. Now it could be that the lifestyle changes that Masako needs to make in order to get well (if she is truly sick) are just not open to her and therefore she can’t get well.

  3. Jennifer says:

    And, no, it isn’t fair to the Japanese people that they don’t get many opportunities to see their princess but it isn’t fair to her not to have a chance to get well, either.
    On the other hand, if she is just faking and being a diva, I don’t feel sorry for her.

  4. Miko says:

    I remember you telling me about his anxiety issues in Singapore, sounds like it was a very hard time for you all, glad he’s doing okay now.

    It’s certainly not work stress in Masako’s case. She doesn’t do any work.

  5. Jennifer says:

    It wasn’t his work…it was his boss. The job itself was fine.

  6. Maya says:

    Perhaps it’s agoraphobia, the poor soul. I feel sorry for her.

  7. Miko says:

    Bosses suck. I have several, and I detest them all. For some reason however they are all absolutely petrified of me, and stay out of my way as much as possible.

  8. Miko says:

    I’m thinking that she was a bad buy, or one of those employees that looks good on paper but turns out to be all wrong for the job at hand. It’s just too bad for everyone concerned.

  9. Karen says:

    I think anxiety or panic attacks are very possible. Her going to Nagano and then not showing up for events suggests one of those two ailments. If so, then she is actually ill. There is help for both ailments, but I think it takes quite a lot of work to get over them. I wish her well.

Leave a Reply

