Will work for food

thai-food-1

I know it sounds crazy, but I was probably the only 40-year-old woman in the world who had never tried high-quality Thai cuisine … until last night.  Now I can’t believe what I was missing out on all these years.  You might say I’ve lost my Thai virginity … at least as far as the food is concerned, if not the men (but give it some time).  It was wonderful.  I feel like a new woman!  Too bad I don’t look like one.

How did this wondrous experience finally come about?  Well, recently two of my favourite friends asked me to give them English lessons.  At first I was hesitant – they are my friends, not my clients, and I want it to stay that way – but finally we thrashed out a deal.  The deal is: they are going to take me out to dinner at very nice restaurants two nights a month, and instead of paying my share, I correct their English.  They are both single working girls who know all the hottest places in town, hence my introduction to the hottest new Thai restaurant in Osaka.

In other words, I get paid to hang out with friends, gossip, criticise the way they talk, and eat excellent cuisine.  Heck, why don’t I just go the whole hog and become a restaurant reviewer?

2 comments on “Will work for food

  1. Karen says:

    Ah, the barter system. We need to use it more. No taxes.

  2. Miko says:

    The possibilities are endless. I am now looking for someone to do my nails.

Leave a Reply

