Those were the days (sigh)

dusk_tokyo_japan

This song was extremely popular back around ’94, and was originally entitled something like “Tokyo at Seven PM” which gave it a very romantic and evocative air for those of us who didn’t actually live there.   The song itself was somewhat strange, and the video even more so, but I really loved it.  The lady who sang it is now in her late forties, and still going strong.

3 comments on “Those were the days (sigh)

  1. Petra says:

    Interesting – the opening sequence with her in the top hat reminded me immediately of the Takarazuka Revue.

    Was the singer once a member there or is it just a coincidence?

  2. Karen says:

    I remember some of the 80s videos the kids liked. This one reminded me of those. They made no sense, but were visual feasts.

  3. Miko says:

    Yeah, it really started to take off in the 80s, some of these vids are still amazing.

    Good question Petra, to the best of my knowledge she was never in the Takarazuka Revue, and has always been more of a fashion icon than a singer/dancer, but do you know, I often go to Takarazuka City for my job, and can count several hardcore revue fans amongst my students! It’s a fascinating (and slightly bizarre) phenomenon, I’ll post about it one of these days.

Leave a Reply

