SHAMELESS

Johnny Cochran has nothing on us. We play “the cancer card” when it’s advantageous. Today, I got a call asking me to let a charity send me pledge cards. It was to raise money for research for breast cancer. The method is they send out cards, which the recipient then mails or takes round to all the neighbors and hits them up for money. I HATE doing that. In fact, I refuse. But rather than argue and let the caller try to send me on a guilt trip (the guilt car doesn’t even get out of the driveway anymore), I came back with, “My husband has pancreatic cancer and that’s where our time, energy, and money is going right now.” There was a properly respectful pause on the other end, an apology, and the standard “Have a nice day.” Oh, yes, I am completely without shame.

4 comments on “SHAMELESS

  1. Miko says:

    I’ve been playing one kind of card or another all my life! Use it babe, use it for all it’s worth! (Seriously, I could write a book, but I’m loathe to give away trade secrets.)

    And don’t give those charities guilt-trip you. They bank on that. One really important thing I’ve learned in Japan (where charities are rare, because people generally only look out for themselves and their immediate families) is “act locally, think globally.” That means, the better you take care of you and yours right now, the better you’ll be able to take care of the wider world in the future. This is so true. Don’t try and do it the other way around, it won’t work nearly so well.

  2. Karen says:

    I have long since passed the stage where people could guilt trip me into anything. There are so many charities with their hands out. I give where I want to. Mostly, though, like the Japanese, I believe charity begins at home.

  3. Miko says:

    “I have long since passed the stage where people could guilt trip me into anything.” Good thing you don’t live with Benjamin!

  4. Miko says:

    One of the refreshing things about (Buddhist) Japan is that charities rarely bother with home or street collections, which I found a real nuisance in (Christian) NZ. I mean, of course I want to help, but there’s only so much one person can do! Instead I focus on the people (and certain cats) who are nearest and dearest to me, with the gratifying result that they are gladly reaching out to others (except certain cats who think of nothing but themseves). I do agree, charity begins at home.

Leave a Reply

