Imagine eating a very dangerous truffle

fugu

That’s what it’s like to eat blowfish.  Today one of my ladies told me that she celebrated her 20th wedding anniversary last weekend by going out to eat blowfish testicles with her husband and their two teenagers.  It cost about $100 per person, and on the way home she started to feel ill and wondered if she had been poisoned (all part of the fun, I’m sure!).  Fortunately by the next morning she was completely recovered. 

I’ve eaten blowfish exactly three times in my life.  Obviously it didn’t kill me!  So I don’t see what all the fuss is about. 

I don’t even like it very much.  Or truffles either, for that matter.  But at least truffles don’t kill people.

2 comments on “Imagine eating a very dangerous truffle

  1. Karen says:

    I can’t even imagine how tiny blowfish testicles must be and how hard it must be to gather enough for an entree.

  2. Petra says:

    Now, now, spaghetti with truffles – I could be tempted to do a lot of interesting things for that. LOL

Leave a Reply

