The Name Game

dior

The necklace is listed on Bidz.com for $175 retail. It’s leather. Whoop de doo. I like nice things. I’m not opposed to buying “name” brands, although I tend to look for bargains in them. But I refuse to buy clothing and accessories that have the designer’s name emblazoned on them conspicuously. That’s just wacky, IMO. The designer ought to give the article away, and maybe pay me to wear it. It’s free advertising. Instead, though, people line up to buy stuff with hot designer names prominently displayed. And pay huge bucks for the stuff. How low must one’s self-esteem be if it’s necessary to have a famous name plastered on the duds? The only name I want in big letters on my shirts is “University of Texas”.

3 comments on “The Name Game

  1. Miko says:

    Don’t get me started. You would laugh to see the women of Japan. I have got one student who wears a big clunky Bulgari choker, big clunky Chanel earrings, big clunky Rolex, and carries a big clunky Hermes bag, all at the same time. I don’t like that look at all, I think it’s tacky, and I disapprove of branding in general … except when it’s Hello Kitty.

  2. Karen says:

    Well, HK is different. That’s not a “status” branding. The others are. I have a big clunky watch, too. It’s not a Rolex, however. It looks like a man’s watch, but it isn’t. The reason I got it is that it has ALL the hour numbers on it, plus military time, and it’s large enough that I can read it without my glasses. It’s far from being a status symbol; it’s an old age symbol.

  3. Miko says:

    I’m past all that: I carry a mini alarm clock around in my handbag. Bought it at the dollar store.

Leave a Reply

