AND THE RAINS CAME

It would appear that it is monsoon season in Louisiana, at least to judge from our 3 day stay. It rained on us the entire way over there, all 8 hours. It rained most, if not all, of every day we were there. Then, as if by magic, literally the minute we crossed the border back into Texas, the sky cleared, the sun came out, and there was not a cloud to be seen in the blue. It just confirmed our high opinion Texas.

We had a blast. Ken gained 10 pounds. I don’t know what I gained. My clothes still fit; that’s all I care about. We ate crawfish, oysters, shrimp, bread puddings, gumbos, etouffes, jambalayas, andouilles, crab, fried green tomatoes. In short, we feasted on food as only Cajuns know how to cook it. And that’s a lovely thing. We did get to do quite a bit of sightseeing, in spite of the rain. We heard people talking with their lovely Cajun accents, with the lilt and the “dis” and “dat”. We had a blast.

To save time & energy, I put the photos on Ken’s web page. Go take a look at Ken Can to check out the pictures.

10 comments on “AND THE RAINS CAME

  1. Miko says:

    What great pics. You both look so happy. I cannot believe you are in your sixties. You are going to have to post more about Cajun cuisine, as I know nothing about it (but am open to anything with shrimps and crab). Is it spicy? Why do the locals have that accent?

  2. Petra says:

    Great photos. Sounds like a marvelous trip.

  3. Karen says:

    Cajun cuisine: Recipes & More Recipes A lot of it is very spicy indeed. Cajuns are fond of red & white pepper.

    Cajun accent: a href=”http://www.pbs.org/speak/seatosea/americanvarieties/cajun/” target=”_blank”>Cajun dialect
    A Cajun describes crime scene
    A Cajun describes crime scene

    Cajun music

  4. Karen says:

    Goofed.

    Both of these are pretty good examples of Cajun dialect/accent.
    Cajun story

    Cajun dialect

  5. Miko says:

    I need subtitles to understand that!

  6. Petra says:

    My first encounter with Cajun food happened like this:

    After the man in my life and I met for the first time in San Francisco and after a leisurely drive down to Los Angeles. we set off to Ikea to buy some stuff for the apartment. After having lugged back all the packages with the bits and pieces of furniture to be assembled, the future husband to be said: “And now what?” “Well,” I answered, “you cook some dinner and I put the furniture together.”

    Said and done. He went into the kitchen and cooked some spicy Cajun gumbo, I grabbed the power drill. We both were quite amazed with the results – I about the food he cooked and he about my dexterity to transform bits and pieces into actual furniture.

    We both knew then that we would be good together. 🙂

  7. Miko says:

    *sigh* Does he have a brother?

  8. Karen says:

    Petra, does he still do a lot of the cooking? Is he Cajun, or does he just like Cajun food?

    Miko, the link, sea urchin vs crawfish, was hilarious. Thanks. I sent it to our friends Roy & Judy, the ones we went on the trip with.

  9. Petra says:

    He does have brothers, but he is the best of the lot. 🙂

    And no, he’s not Cajun, he’s Californian, born here (then raised all over the world, including Taiwan).

    And yes, he still does like to cook, but I do most of it. Having my office at home it is simply easier for me to nip down to the kitchen to see to dinner than to wait after he comes home until dinner is on the table.

Leave a Reply

