February 23, 2009

The new one

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:39 pm by Jane

sayuri-yoshinaga

Last week I met my new handler for the first time.  As soon as I saw her face, I knew we would get along excellently well.  You know that feeling you get sometimes when you meet someone, and just instinctively know that you are destined to do interesting stuff together?  Well, that’s how I felt.  Apparently she felt the same way, because the next day she dragged me out for lunch at a frightfully trendy organic restaurant in Osaka.  I shan’t name the place, because the food was horrid (brown rice, bamboo shoots, and nasty herbal tea, at equally nasty prices … and I can’t believe we had to wait 20 minutes to get in!) but the company was fascinating.  I really enjoyed talking with her.  I enjoyed it so much that I sent her a thank-you email today, begging her never to quit that company.  I think I’m in luck – she’s already married with kids.  Keep your fingers crossed for me.  I don’t think I have the energy to get used to another one.

3 Comments »

  1. Jennifer Brown said,

    I am so glad you have hit it off with your new handler right off the bat!! And good news that she is already married with kids. And, if I may ask, what does the job of handling you actually entail?

  2. Karen said,

    Yea! Glad you have someone you really like. She’s really bucking the trend in Japan, isn’t she – married, with kids, & working. Good for her!

  3. Miko said,

    Handling me means just doing whatever it takes to keep me happy! In a strangely pleasant way, it’s almost like having a wife, without the nagging (ouch!) and financial outlay (you know who you are!). My job takes me all over western Japan, lecturing about culture differences; it can be tiring, and I have a lot of very specific requirements, because I want to do my very best. I’ve often thought about quitting, but my handlers always talk me out of it. They liaise with the area managers. They arrange venues, restaurants, and when necessary hotel reservations. They make all the printouts for the audience members, and provide all the materials for me so that I don’t have to carry a thing (I usually show up with my handbag and nothing else). They also collate my survey results and tabulate them into percentages that I can read at a glance. They really do everything for me, and they do their best. One year I announced that I was on a low-carb diet, and they raced around searching for restaurants that didn’t serve pasta, rice, or potatoes – apparently they were really panicking when they couldn’t find any! I had a good laugh when I heard that, especially as I had only stuck to the diet for three days.

    And … they send flowers on my birthday!


Leave a Reply

