Speech contest

portopiahotel

Well, I did adjucate at the annual contest last November, but I didn’t bother blogging about it here, because the only remarkable thing about it, was that it was wholly unremarkable.  There were no tears, no tantrums, and no infighting between the judges for once.  Hence there was no deadlock, and I managed to refrain from throwing stuff at pompous gaijin professors.  Fortunately the organisers had taken my previous complaints seriously and implemented a new policy of ensuring that exactly 50% of the judges are female (no need to thank me, just doing my bit for the women of the world!  Although, aren’t you just a teeny bit proud of me?).    All in all, it was a remarkably smooth event, and I forgot all about it almost as soon as it was over. 

There was, however, one small issue …

(tbc)

3 comments on “Speech contest

  1. Jennifer Brown says:

    Ooh, what happened?
    And a hearty pat on the back to you for getting more women judges on the panel. I hope it lasts.

  2. Karen says:

    I think we all knew there would be at least one “small” issue somewhere. No I’m not just a teeny bit proud of you, I’m a whole lot proud of you. You are really doing well. And we women of the world thank you for your efforts on behalf of those of us who are bone idle.

  3. Miko says:

    Thank you very much for your support. I always fear that despite my efforts the “50%” rule will only last as long as I am around. Fortunately I’ve started corresponding with one of the organisers, and I plan to be around for a long time!

Leave a Reply

