Wow, did people really dress like that?

They looked great!  I have a vested interest in the 60s, because it’s the decade in which I was born and a lot of interesting stuff seemed to be happening, especially fashion-wise.   Too bad I don’t remember any of it (or maybe not – the animal skin suits were a bit scary).

6 comments on “Wow, did people really dress like that?

  1. Karen says:

    Women didn’t wear pants out in public then. That’s why the poor woman was bowling in a dress. In our college, it was actually against the dress code to wear pants to class.

  2. olivia says:

    fabulous photos!!! was the dress-code a Texan thing? I’m pretty sure my mom sometimes wore fashionable pants in those days.

  3. Karen says:

    Oh, we did too. It was strictly a college dress code. In fact, when we had snow and ice, the dean of women decreed that for that day, we could wear pants to class. I had a gorgeous ski pants and sweater set (even though I have never been skiing in my life – or want to), so I wore that. The head of the English department chewed my ass out. I was outraged. I told her the dean of women had said we could, for the one day. I was informed by the English dept. czarina that the dean of women wasn’t running the English dept. Pissed me off greatly.

  4. Petra says:

    So, here we go, dress code at a RC boarding school in the ’60th: Absolutely no pants allowed. The only exception was on Saturdays for those girls who went home for the weekend, setting off right after the last class of the day (which meant one packed ones bag in the morning, grabbed it after class and raced off to the train station – no time for changing).

    Then pants were allowed – with a skirt worn over it. The skirt could only be discarded and stuffed into the bag once one had passed the reception area where “Mother Cerberus” made sure that any girl who had taken off her skirt before that point got a good verbal shaking down.

    You see, pants for girls were considered a shameless display of your… to this day I do not quite know what we were supposed to “display shamelessly.” But it was a big, big, big no-no.

  5. Miko says:

    One of my friends attended boarding school (C of E) in England in the late 70s and tells me that none of the female teachers there were allowed to wear trousers, which seems incredible to me.

    The school/s I attended in NZ had relatively lax dress codes for the teachers, but we students had to wear uniforms and there were extremely strict rules about how to wear them (I was once yelled at by a teacher for wearing a tiny HAIRCLIP that was not the regulation colour!). The uniform inspections were tiresome and time-wasting. Some of my friends rebelled by wearing their tunics as short as possible, it was funny to see the teachers get out their measuring tapes. Hopefully things have changed now, it must have been such a headache for the teachers having to keep an eye out for unauthorised socks or hairstyles, when all they wanted to do was drum some knowledge into our heads.

    Japan is even worse, many schools won’t allow students to have hair of any colour but black. Some students who have naturally light-coloured hair are forced to dye it black. I’m so relieved that Sonbeam has naturally black hair (and a naturally conformist nature), otherwise I don’t know what I’d do.

  6. Petra says:

    We did not have school uniforms, thank God. The only requirement was that we had to wear white blouses and black skirts on Sunday. Well, that was something one could live with.

Leave a Reply

