July 19, 2009

Climb every massage

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:52 am by Jane

mtshasta

Today was massage day, and the theme was, bizarrely, Mt. Shasta.  Do you know that one?  According to Murata-san, that mountain and environs are very sacred spots, brimming over with spiritual energy.  She visits every year.  Personally I’d never heard of the place before, but because I suffer considerably during Japan’s hot and humid summers I did appreciate the whole high-altitude experience, especially the wipe-down with cool towels (she uses a different one for face, torso, back and each limb –  imagine her laundry bills!) and the mountain-shaped piece of cake for dessert, called Mont Blanc.  I liked the mountaineering magazines and photos placed in the waiting room, too.  Unfortunately I don’t read Austrian, but the pictures were beautiful.

Afterwards she told me, with some surprise, that my whole body was extremely tense, and that I was obviously under a lot of stress.  I was also surprised to hear this, because personally I’ve never felt better (well, “better” is relative I suppose).  She didn’t tell me to try and take it easy – anyone who lives in a Japanese city will know that that’s totally impossible anyway - but she did advise me to avoid cold drinks, vigorous air conditioning, and stressful work situations.   Personally I’m going to throw her advice to the winds, and indulge in the best remedy for stress: more work!  And more massages!

6 Comments »

  1. Karen said,

    Mt. Shasta is in California. I’ve never heard anything about its being sacred. But the mountain-theme massage sounds lovely.

    If you don’t think you’re stressed, you’re not.

  2. Miko said,

    I agree, I’m not stressed, I’m just a bit crazy. I saw some incredible pics of Mt. Shasta in a book in the waiting room. The cloud formations were eerily beautiful. Just looking at them made me think that the place is something special, and I’d love to see it one day in person. Not climb it, just see it.

  3. Petra said,

    The dear husband once spent several months at a Buddhist monastery at Mt. Shasta.

    Apparently the monastery was founded there because Mt. Shasta looks quite similar to Fujisan.

  4. Petra said,

    You don’t need to learn Austrian – German will do.

  5. Miko said,

    Oops, my bad, I meant to say “Austrian” as spoken by Julie Andrews and the rest of Hollywood!

    I must say that Fujisan and also certain lookalike mountains of NZ (such as Taranaki) are regarded as extremely sacred spots by both the local inhabitants and overseas visitors, so it doesn’t surprise me that Mt. Shasta counts in their ranks. Have you ever heard of Mt. Koya, in Wakayama? It is probably even more sacred than Fujisan.

  6. Petra said,

    I’ve been to Mt. Koya, thanks to my Japanese friend.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

